Stock Trader Top Investors HT Affiliates
Go Back   Hawaii Talks - Hawaii's Online Community Forums! > Hawaii Talks Forums > Entertainment

HT Hosting

Unread 12-31-2008, 02:31 AM   #1
sylynteyes
Sand Facial

Additional Info
Credits: 1,666.90
sylynteyes is on a distinguished road
Default What are your thoughts on KIKU's "Soko ga Shiritai"?

Hello all,

My name is Neal Akatsuka and I am an undergraduate at the University of Hawaii at Manoa studying abroad in Tokyo. I am currently working on a paper for my media globalization course on audience reception in Hawaii of "Soko ga Shiritai." I am interested in particular about how Japanese Americans relate to the program - that is, how members of the Japanese diaspora living in Hawaii relate to a television program designed to showcase "Japan."

Some of the questions I have are:
- Why do Japanese Americans watch "Soko ga Shiritai"? That is, what is appealing about the program as opposed to other shows set in Japan such as Japanese dramas?
- Why does the show continue to be popular despite it being only reruns?
- How does one understand the "Japan" being presented in the show? For example, is it a Japan located in a certain period of time (the Past, the Present)? How does this reflect on the "accuracy" of the portrayal of Japan and does this matter in how the show is enjoyed?
- If one has actually gone to Japan, does this image of Japan fit what you actually encountered?
- Does the popularity of the series differ based on generation (i.e. nisei, sansei, yonsei) or gender?

If anyone has any opinions (particularly in regard to my questions) or would be willing to be interviewed further (via email), please post a reply or email me (neala@hawaii.edu). I would really appreciate it!!!